As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 7 best carry-on suitcases, by the size that counts at the gate
Updated
Short version: if you fly United, American, Delta or Alaska, I'd pick the Samsonite Omni 2 Smaller By Design. Its listing gives an overall size of exactly 22 x 14 x 9 inches with wheels. If you fly airlines with a 7 or 8 kg cabin limit, the Travelpro Maxlite 5 is the lightest full-size pick at 5.4 lb, but it is 23 inches tall with wheels.
United's page says to include the handle and wheels when you measure. Delta's page says the same and adds a 45 inch total. So the number to compare is the overall size, not the case size in the title. Most listings here give both if you read past the title.
Quick comparison
| Model | Overall size with wheels | vs 22 x 14 x 9 | Empty weight | Volume | Shell | Wheels | Airline limits it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsonite Omni 2 Smaller By Design | 22 x 14 x 9 in | Fits | 7.5 lb | 45 L | Hardside polycarbonate | 4 spinner | 7 of 12 |
| Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-Inch Spinner | 23 x 14.5 x 9 in | +1 in | 5.4 lb | 46 L | Softside polyester | 4 spinner | 1 of 12 |
| Wrangler 22-Inch Hardside Spinner | 22 x 14 x 9.5 in | +0.5 in | 6.4 lb | 38 L | Hardside ABS | 4 spinner | 2 of 12 |
| LEVEL8 20-Inch Hard Shell Carry-On | 21.5 x 14.5 x 9.2 in | +0.5 in | 7.7 lb | 40 L | Hardside polycarbonate | 8 spinner | 2 of 12 |
| Samsonite Winfield 2 20-Inch Spinner | 23 x 14.5 x 9.5 in | +1 in | 6.7 lb | Not given | Hardside polycarbonate | 4 spinner | 1 of 12 |
| Amazon Basics 21-Inch Hardside Spinner | 21.7 x 14.8 x 10 in | +1 in | 7.72 lb | 34 L | Hardside ABS | 4 spinner | 1 of 12 |
| Travelpro Maxlite 5 Underseat | 17.5 x 14.5 x 8.5 in | +0.5 in | 5.5 lb | 26 L | Softside polyester | 2 inline | 5 of 12 |
"Airline limits it fits" counts the 12 carry-on limits in our checker, unexpanded. "+0.5 in" means the worst side is half an inch over.
- Samsonite Omni 2 Smaller By Design0 in
- Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-Inch Spinner1 in
- Wrangler 22-Inch Hardside Spinner0.5 in
- LEVEL8 20-Inch Hard Shell Carry-On0.5 in
- Samsonite Winfield 2 20-Inch Spinner1 in
- Amazon Basics 21-Inch Hardside Spinner1 in
The picks
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 19, 2026. Every size below is the overall size printed on the listing.
Samsonite Omni 2 Carry-On (Smaller By Design)
Get this if you fly United, American, Delta or Alaska and want a hard case whose with-wheels size is exactly their 22 x 14 x 9 inch limit. Skip it if weight matters most. At 7.5 lb empty it is one of the heavier picks here. It is the only full-size pick whose listed overall size fits all four of those airlines. The listing says the case is expandable but does not say by how much, and anything you add to the depth takes it past 9 inches.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 22 x 14 x 9 in with wheels, per the listing. Interior 20 x 14 x 9 in
- 7.5 lb empty, 45 liters on the spec table
- Polycarbonate hard shell, four spinner wheels
- Built-in charging system for a power bank you supply (power bank not included)
- 10 year limited warranty
- Lock: one bullet says the TSA lock is not included on the carry-on size, the spec table lists a TSA lock. Check the photos
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it good quality for short trips and business travel. They say it rolls smoothly, handles sidewalks and curbs, and fits about four days of clothes plus shoes.
- They complain about: Some owners find it smaller than they expected.
Good
- Listed overall size equals the common US limit
- Fits 7 of the 12 airline limits in our checker
- Samsonite's 10 year warranty covers manufacturing defects
Watch out for
- Heavier than the softside picks
- Expanding it breaks the 9 inch depth
- Listing contradicts itself on the TSA lock
Travelpro Maxlite 5 21-Inch Softside Spinner
Get this if you fly an airline with a 7 or 8 kg cabin limit and want the most packing weight left over. It is 5.4 lb empty, the lightest full-size pick here. Skip it if your airline measures strictly at 22 inches. Travelpro lists the case at 21 x 14 x 9 but the overall size at 23 x 14.5 x 9 in with wheels and handles, so it is 1 inch over on height. It expands up to 2 inches, which makes it 11 inches deep.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 23 x 14.5 x 9 in with wheels and handles. Case 21 x 14 x 9 in
- 5.4 lb empty, 46 liters
- Polyester with water-resistant coating, four spinner wheels
- Expands up to 2 in
- Handle stops at 38 and 42.5 in
- Limited lifetime warranty. Travelpro's Trusted Companion Promise covers airline damage for one year if you register it
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it is light, easy to steer through airports on smooth wheels, and roomy. Several like it for international trips.
- They complain about: Durability is mixed. Some say handles broke after two trips, and some find it smaller than the listed size.
Good
- Lightest full-size pick: 10 lb of packing room under a 7 kg limit
- Most liters here
- Warranty add-on covers airline damage
Watch out for
- Overall height is 23 in, not 22
- Expanded depth of 11 in is over every limit in our checker, even Southwest's 10
- Some owners report handles breaking
Wrangler 22-Inch Hardside Spinner
Get this if you want a hard case that is light (6.4 lb) and whose listed overall height and width match the US limit. Skip it if your airline checks depth closely. The listing says 22 x 14 x 9.5 overall and calls that carry-on approved, but 9.5 is half an inch over the 9 inch depth United, American, Delta and Alaska publish.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 22 x 14 x 9.5 in, per the listing
- 6.4 lb empty, 38 liters
- ABS hard shell, four in-line spinner wheels
- Combination lock (the listing does not say TSA)
- Warranty not stated on the listing
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it holds a week of clothes with extra shoes and a sweater, and rolls easily in any direction.
- They complain about: Some say it is smaller than advertised. Some report the handle breaking within three months and a shell that feels flimsy.
Good
- Light for a hard case
- Height and width match the US limit
- Compression straps inside
Watch out for
- Half an inch deeper than 9 in
- Some owners report the handle breaking and a thin shell
- No warranty length on the listing
LEVEL8 20-Inch Hard Shell Carry-On
Get this if you fly Southwest or British Airways and want a hard case with a built-in TSA lock. At 21.5 inches overall it is the shortest full-size pick. Skip it for the 22 x 14 x 9 airlines: its 14.5 inch width and 9.2 inch depth are just over. On Air Canada and Lufthansa it misses by 0.1 inch of depth on paper. It also weighs 7.7 lb empty, and the listing does not mention an expansion zipper.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 21.5 x 14.5 x 9.2 in with wheels and handles
- 7.7 lb empty, 40 liters
- Three-layer polycarbonate shell, eight spinner wheels
- Built-in TSA combination lock
- Split case with two lined compartments
- Warranty not stated on the listing
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the plain look and the smooth wheels. Some say it held a week of clothes for an international trip and was easy to move through crowded airports.
- They complain about: Zippers get mixed reports, and some owners say theirs failed.
Good
- Shortest full-size pick
- Fits 2 of the 12 airline limits in our checker
- TSA lock built in
Watch out for
- Heaviest full-size pick after the Amazon Basics
- Slightly over 14 x 9 on width and depth
- Some owners report zipper failures
Samsonite Winfield 2 20-Inch Spinner
Get this if you mostly fly Southwest (24 x 16 x 10 inches), the one limit in our checker it fits, and want a hard case with a 10 year warranty. Skip it if you fly United, American, Delta or Alaska and they measure. The listing says it meets their size limits, yet its own overall size is 23 x 14.5 x 9.5 in, which is 1 inch over their 22 inch height.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 23 x 14.5 x 9.5 in. Packing size 20 x 13.5 x 9.5 in
- 6.7 lb empty
- Polycarbonate hard shell, four spinner wheels
- Side-mounted TSA locks
- Expandable per the title. Expanded size not given
- 10 year limited warranty against defects
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it holds a lot and rolls very easily. Some like that the bright colors make it easy to spot.
- They complain about: Some say it dents easily. Size is split: some call it a great carry-on, others say it is too big.
Good
- Fits Southwest with room to spare
- TSA locks
- 10 year warranty on defects
Watch out for
- Listing claims United, American and Delta fit, its own numbers say otherwise
- Some owners say it dents easily
- No liters figure on the listing
Amazon Basics 21-Inch Hardside Spinner
Get this if you fly Southwest and want a plain hard case. Skip it for the 22 x 14 x 9 airlines, and for British Airways, where its 10 inch depth is 0.2 inch over 25 cm. The listing gives 21.7 x 14.8 x 10 inches with wheels, so it is short enough but a full inch too deep, and it is the heaviest full-size pick at 7.72 lb. It expands for up to 25 percent more space, which makes it deeper still.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 21.7 x 14.8 x 10 in with wheels, per the listing
- 7.72 lb empty, 34 liters
- ABS hard shell, four spinner wheels
- Expands for up to 25 percent more space
- No lock
- Warranty not stated on the listing
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the space, how it steers and how sturdy it feels. One says it worked well at the airport.
- They complain about: Durability is mixed. Some say it holds up, others say it broke right away.
Good
- Height fits the 22 in limit
- Interior divider and three zip pockets
- Fits Southwest
Watch out for
- 10 in deep before expanding
- Heaviest full-size pick
- No lock
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Underseat Roller
Get this as a light cabin bag for short trips on Emirates, Lufthansa, Air Canada or British Airways, where it fits the carry-on limit, or on Southwest. Skip it if you are counting on it as the one personal item on a basic fare. Its overall size is 17.5 x 14.5 x 8.5 in, which is bigger than every personal-item limit we found, including United's 17 x 10 x 9 and American's 18 x 14 x 8. It is even half an inch too wide for the 22 x 14 x 9 carry-on box.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Overall 17.5 x 14.5 x 8.5 in with wheels and handles. Case 15.25 x 13 x 8 in
- 5.5 lb empty, 26 liters
- Two in-line wheels
- Padded laptop or tablet sleeve and a removable wet pocket
- Limited lifetime warranty
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it fits under plane seats and in overhead bins, holds a couple of days of things, and has handy compartments. They like that it is light and rolls smoothly.
- They complain about: The review summary we read was mostly positive. The tradeoff is size: 26 liters and two wheels, so it suits short trips.
Good
- Fits 5 of the 12 carry-on limits in our checker
- Light
- Laptop sleeve
Watch out for
- Bigger than the personal-item limits we found, and 14.5 in wide
- 26 liters is short-trip space
- Two wheels, so you tilt and pull it
Before you buy any carry-on
- Find the overall size on the listing. It is often in a bullet as "overall dimensions" or "including wheels". The size in the title is often the case alone. See why airline approved bags miss the sizer.
- Check the depth after expanding. See expandable carry-ons.
- Check the weight limit if you fly outside the US. Emirates economy allows 7 kg. See carry-on weight limits.
- Check your fare. Basic fares on some airlines allow only a personal item. See personal item sizes.
- Read the warranty for airline damage. Samsonite's warranty page says it does not cover transport damage by airlines. See hardside vs softside.